2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Cogmentor - MagicShibby Twitter Spoiler
    I was hoping there would be a way to move contraptions around Smile The key here is that contraptions aren't entirely just individual, "activates every three turns" effects. They're meant to be combined in sequence with other effects. This ability allows you to change the sequence at will, reacting to changes in the board state for instance. It's not so much about *how often* you get to activate your contraption effects, but *in what order*.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Entirely Normal Armchair
    I'm a little confused by the discussion here. If your opponent thinks you've hidden TNA below one of their cards, couldn't they just... move their card to verify? Then they'd see it and can unsummon it. Right? Or is there some kind of permanent "Just A Second..." effect in the CR that I don't know about?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Mothership Spoilers Unstable 11-13
    I feel like Spikes won't see the appeal of Contraptions at all, and T[ia]mmys may only see it after a bit of consideration, but us Johnnys and Jennys... we see the loveliness immediately Smile Contraptions are all about combos, combos, combos. They give you more consistency than triggered effects, but slightly less control than activated abilities. You need to decide which effects will trigger together for the best combo, but also think ahead to the next step of the sequence and what should trigger then. You have a sequencer of combos, basically, and you just need to decide how the sequence will progress. It's beautiful Smile Who cares if one Contraption only gives you +2/+2 when you can combine it with the perfect set of 5 other Contraptions in just the right way to make an amazing sequence of effects? The beauty is in putting the puzzle together, not in critiquing the brush strokes on each of the puzzle pieces Smile
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Contraption (partial spoiler)
    (Disclaimer: I haven't read most of the last 5 pages here.)

    I'm looking at all the Contraption-based spoilers for Unstable, and I'm super in love. I only wish they could have made this in black border, maybe as a new format? Ether way, I love love love it. I wonder if Contraption decks would have the same restrictions as libraries? I.E. if we pretend for a moment un cards were legal in all formats, would Contraption decks be limited to 4-of in Standard and 1-of in Commander? Or would it just be a free-for-all where you can have 100 of each Contraption if you want? And do the Sprocket cards only come in that one variety of "3 sprockets, start on the third"? Or would there be others, like a 2-sprocket variant, or a "3 sprocket but start on the first" variant?

    Basically, the mechanic boils down to this: "Every N'th turn, activate some of your artifacts' abilities. When you assemble a contraption, draw an artifact card from your side deck, play it, and choose the phase with which it will be activated." And that's 100% do-able in black-border if people really want it (though maybe explained better than I just did X ).

    *EDIT* I want to quote myself from the Mothership thread:

    Quote from IceMetalPunk »
    I feel like Spikes won't see the appeal of Contraptions at all, and T[ia]mmys may only see it after a bit of consideration, but us Johnnys and Jennys... we see the loveliness immediately Smile Contraptions are all about combos, combos, combos. They give you more consistency than triggered effects, but slightly less control than activated abilities. You need to decide which effects will trigger together for the best combo, but also think ahead to the next step of the sequence and what should trigger then. You have a sequencer of combos, basically, and you just need to decide how the sequence will progress. It's beautiful Smile Who cares if one Contraption only gives you +2/+2 when you can combine it with the perfect set of 5 other Contraptions in just the right way to make an amazing sequence of effects? The beauty is in putting the puzzle together, not in critiquing the brush strokes on each of the puzzle pieces Smile
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [[Official]] Unreleased and New Card Discussion
    I usually don't play white, but I really want to run a green/white deck just to try and pull off this combo:

    Turn 3: play Mirri, Weatherlight Duelist
    Turn 4: play Balan, Wandering Knight
    Turn 5: play any cheap equipment and attach it to Balan
    Turn 6: play Nazahn, Revered Bladesmith

    From then on, you just attack with Mirri and Balan. All your creatures become basically unblockable, and if Mirri's the commander, you get tons of free Commander Damage and win fast.

    Even better, if the equipment you play on turn 5 is a Bloodstained Battleaxe, then you'll quickly have Balan serving up double-strike attacks and getting bigger and bigger each turn, speeding up your win.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Cultivators' Caravan
    People keep calling this a "mana rock". You are mistaken; it is clearly a mana car Grin
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Die Young - Common removal
    The flavor is kind of messy. Die Young can kill most creatures with "Elder" in the name and Wizened Cenn.


    It goes with Live Fast, though.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Die Young - Common removal
    For people complaining that this isn't good in a vacuum...it's not in a vacuum. Keep in mind we already have energy production like Woodweaver's Puzzleknot spoiled, and who knows what's to come? (Puzzleknot nets you 6 energy, this nets you 2, meaning if you spend all the energy from those two, you have a thing that kills */8's for 2 mana. Don't get me started with using Ghirapur Orrery with Puzzleknot... And that's assuming you're not generating energy with anything else, which why wouldn't you?)

    In other words, this is a mediocre card if it's the only energy card in your entire deck, but if you have other energy cards, it becomes quite useful. I foresee, based on existing spoilers, energy becoming a "do or don't" mechanic: either you consider it and it becomes very useful, or you try to shove it into decks without consideration and it lies flat. I, for one, will be building fantasy decks full of energy usage, I think.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Panharmonicon
    Okay, thanks. So this definitely does work with creatures who have self-ETB effects...even better than I initially thought.

    I haven't played Magic for years now, but Kaladesh has the Johnny in me *super excited*.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Panharmonicon
    Rules question here: if a card says "when ~ enters the battlefield, [X]", does that trigger before or after that card is a permanent? I'm guessing it's after, whereas abilities that say "AS ~ enters the battlefield" occur before, but I'm not sure?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Commander Game
    Lexiros, Studious Master 3UR
    Legendary Creature - Human Wizard
    Whenever Lexiros, Studious Master blocks a creature, put a scroll counter on it.
    Whenever Lexiros, Studious Master attacks, remove all scroll counters from it. You may cast an instant or sorcery card from your graveyard for each counter removed this way.
    3/4

    Next: A commander based on a character from your favorite video game. (Or, if you don't play video games, from your favorite movie.)
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on Donation [Mechanic]
    Quote from mondu_the_fat »
    IT would be fun if it had advantage to owning it and donating it.

    However, the black one is absolutely useless if you own it (5cc for 1/3? Not worth it even with indestructible), and as such it has no reason the be played without the donation.

    Also, this runs into the problem control cards run into. After the game, there is a very realistic chance that you'll lose the card, permanently, because either/both you and your opponent forget to return the card.

    This is fine as a one or two of (like sleeper agent). As a mechanic and appearing in several cards, the risk of loss due to the number of cards accidentally changing hands is too high.


    Would Stonecrack Minion be better if the donation cost was different from the normal casting cost? So it could cost less, like 1BB or 2BB, but then the donation cost would be 3BB?

    As for the risk of card loss...what's the likelihood of two players using the same sleeves, not killing a donated card by game's end, *and* both forgetting the card was donated? Each individually, maybe, but one of those would get you your card back in most cases, I'd think.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Donation [Mechanic]
    A long time ago, I started a set based on economics (there are 5 levels of economic positions, so I figured they'd make a good basis for 5 factions). For the tertiary faction, since tertiary economics are the retail sector, I had them focused on merchants. This is the mechanic I came up with:

    Donation — You may have this creature enter the battlefield under an opponent’s control. As long as you don’t own it, it has [insert detriment here].

    Basically, the idea is you can keep it, or you can give it away to the detriment of an opponent (but they'd be getting a creature out of it). Two examples from the set:

    Masochistic Medic 1RW
    Creature - Human
    Donation — You may have Masochistic Medic enter the battlefield under target opponent’s control. As long as you don’t own it, it has “At the beginning of your upkeep, Masochistic Medic deals 2 damage to you.”

    Prevent the first 1 damage that would be dealt to you each turn.
    1/1
    Their lips say I’m mad, but their blood screams “spill me!”

    Stonecrack Minion 3BB
    Creature - Gargoyle
    Stonecrack Minion is indestructible.

    Donation — You may have Stonecrack Minion enter the battlefield under target opponent’s control. As long as you don’t own it, it has defender and “Whenever a source deals damage to Stonecrack Minion, sacrifice another creature”.
    1/2
    It waits, watches, and studies its prey—then it strikes and carries it away.



    My question is: what do you think of the mechanic? And also, how the heck do you balance this cost-wise, since it creates two very different situations depending on whether you donate it or not? (For example, should there be a separate Donation cost, or some other balancing, or is it fine as-is?)
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Synew: A Sci-fi Approach to Magic
    I mean... I thought of that version, but as you mentioned, it seems like it might just be broken. Also, how does that make it less parasitic than the current version?
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Fear your Nemesis! (Creature mechanic you'll love and hate)
    The former works in 2-player, but in multiplayer around a table, "head to head" is less defined. For example, in a 4-player game, there's someone to my left, to my right, and across from me. If I make a nemesis of the right-player's creature, making them "head to head" would mean I'd have to rotate my creature in a way that's very hard to distinguish from a tapped creature.

    The overlay markers work well with Morph and Manifest, since all morphed and manifested cards are identical. That solution doesn't work for nemesis, since each creature is paired with exactly one other creature. For example, if I put nemesis overlays on two of my creatures and two creatures I don't control, how does that help me remember which of my creatures is paired with which of my opponents' creatures?
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.