2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Licia, Sanguine Tribune (Tolarian College Spoiler) - RWB Vampire
    Quote from Gutterstorm »
    Quote from SCDL »


    Because 2 life for a permanent +3/+3 is still pretty amazing. It also makes the card better in multiplayer.


    Except its 5 life. That's not nothing. That once per turn clause is something they usually save for stuff that gets left on the table after a draft. Not a mythic commander.

    Except she has lifelink. And so if you don't activate her the turn you cast her, you'd net 2 life. But if you do activate her the turn you cast her and the turn after and attack, you break even.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on 6/23 Mothership Spoils: Cycle of Torment
    Quote from orlouge82 »
    C'mon guys, basic English. Repeat means do something again. If the spell is cast for 0, you REPEAT the process 0 times. You ALWAYS do the action the first time.


    "C'mon guys, basic English. Return means put something back where it was. If the creature was never in a hand, you can't RETURN it to a hand."


    Magic terminology doesn't always match exact English usage in edge cases.


    EDIT: An open question: If you were writing a card that worked like I am claiming this card works (X=0 means 0 iterations), how would it be worded other than how this card is worded?


    X can't be zero.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on 6/23 Mothership Spoils: Cycle of Torment
    I would put serious money on X=0 being 0 effect. They're clearly meaning "iterate" when they're saying "repeat"; people are getting hung up on the implication that you can't repeat something that you haven't done already. That same logic would lead to the conclusion that you can't Unsummon a creature put into play by Collected Company -- how can I return something to your hand that was never in your hand in the first place? But we all know the answer to that one.

    If it was clear, this discussion wouldn't be taking place. Also once a permanent is on the battlefield, it has no memory of any previous states, so the Unsummon argument doesn't really apply here, although I see your point.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on 6/23 Mothership Spoils: Cycle of Torment
    Quote from EyeballFrog »
    Quote from Kajarak32 »
    Quote from Shadowkass »
    Quote from Darty17 »
    Quote from Shadowkass »
    To clarify, the wording on torment of hailfire.

    Repeat the following X times. Does this mean that paying BB and 0 would make this hit once or is it once per X paid?

    Sorry for the stupid question


    It would be per X paid. BB and 0 would cause this card to be cast but do nothing.


    Thank you, just settling an argument in a group chat Smile


    I don't think something that hasn't occurred can be "repeated". For this reason, I believe casting this for BB (X = 0) will still cause one instance of the effect.

    https://www.youtube.com/embed/CaBjEnsKDX8&t=25s

    Anyways, if X is 0, you do it 0 times. Card instructions are followed in order, and the instruction to repeat the process comes *before* the process itself. If you are told to do something 0 times, you don't do it.

    Yeah but it says to REPEAT it 0 times, you still do it once. If it said DO the following X times, that works. Either way this is just bad templating on Wizards' part.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on 6/23 Mothership Spoils: Cycle of Torment
    Quote from scottjhebert »
    I'm not sure. I'm looking at every repeat card in Gatherer right now, and none of them start with a repeat clause... so...


    Yeah I just asked a friend of mine that is an L1, he says "My official answer is to wait for the FAQ"
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on 6/23 Mothership Spoils: Cycle of Torment
    Here is the definition of repeat according to MW
    Definition of repeat
    transitive verb
    1
    a : to say or state again
    b : to say over from memory : recite
    c : to say after another
    2
    a : to make, do, or perform again repeat an experiment
    b : to make appear again the curtains repeat the wallpaper pattern will repeat the program tomorrow
    c : to go through or experience again had to repeat third grade
    3
    : to express or present (oneself) again in the same words, terms, or form

    That to me means if X=1, 6 life could be lost baring no sacs or discards. But we'll have to wait and see what WotC says.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [[Official]] Bad Advertisements Report Thread
    Getting a lot of high jacking ads on mobile lately in Safari on both iPhone and iPad.
    Posted in: Forum Software Feedback and Bug Reports
  • posted a message on Djeru the Purified (?) IGN Germany spoiler
    The rough translation of this on the spoilers page is wrong. It doesn't tell you where to put the PW card once you've revealed it.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Possible leak from Reddit (6 complete cards, new Treasure mechanic, hint at new Jace, tribal theme)
    Hostage Taker seems busted.

    Hostsage Taker 2UB
    Creature — Human Pirate (rare)
    When ~ ETBs, exile target artifact or creature until ~ leaves the battlefield. You may cast that card for as long as it remains exiled and you may spend mana as though it were mana of any type to cast that spell.
    ¿2/3?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Un-Set 3 Unstable
    I really hope that they are able to make teenager a creature type in this one.

    Also I'm expecting to see a Spike legendary creature.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons
    Quote from DementedKirby »
    Quote from Cyborg Huey »
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but the way hapatra, vizier of poisons is worded will make it so you don't get the snake if a creature you control with infect or wither deals damage to a creature right? Because she says "Whenever you put a -1/-1 counter..." and wither says "This deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters." So the creature with wither is putting the -1/-1 counter on the other creature not you, so no snake right? Granted, if you proliferate a -1/-1 counter that went onto an opponent's creature from a source with wither, that would get you a snake.


    It's refering to an ability you control. You don't put counters with spells either, if you want to split hairs; the spell does.

    Yeah you're right. I guess I'm just used to the old wording of "spell or ability you control." But the gatherer rulings address the issue: "If a creature with wither or infect deals damage to a creature, the controller of the creature with wither or infect puts that many -1/-1 counters on the second creature."
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • posted a message on Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but the way hapatra, vizier of poisons is worded will make it so you don't get the snake if a creature you control with infect or wither deals damage to a creature right? Because she says "Whenever you put a -1/-1 counter..." and wither says "This deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters." So the creature with wither is putting the -1/-1 counter on the other creature not you, so no snake right? Granted, if you proliferate a -1/-1 counter that went onto an opponent's creature from a source with wither, that would get you a snake.
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • posted a message on 4/11 Mothership Spoilers - UG Nissa and Zombies
    I love the Nissa, but sad that she had to be blue, I would have loved to be able to put her in my Rosheen Meanderer deck. Frown
    Oh well, like I said I do still like her and the zombie stuff is nice too.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Ready / Fight - Spanish DailyMTG
    I haven't taken Spanish in over ten years, but I think the card is going to be Prepare//Fight simply because Ready//Willing is already a card.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.