2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Phyrexian obliterator
    Thanks
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Phyrexian obliterator
    If i play a card like dismember on my daughter's phyrexian obliterator does the -5 count as damage and i have to sacrifice the permanents?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Double strike
    Thanks
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Double strike
    If i attack with a creature that has double strike, lets say its a 4/4. My opponent blocks with a 2/2.
    The blocker dies during the first strike combat stage, but then does the "second strike" go on to damage my opponent? Or it just does another 4 to the already dead creature?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Flagstones of Trokair
    Well, right now, my meta is my wife and kids, with the decks in my signature.
    I dont get out much latley.....


    Im trying to make the decks fun and interesting, but good enough to beat thier friends, so they stay interested when covid ends....
    I have a few karakas, so why not throw em in there?

    I try to make it interesting for me too by making the decks as diverse as possible, i use the canopy lands in the burn deck, im hoping to use something else here.
    Posted in: Legacy (Type 1.5)
  • posted a message on Flagstones of Trokair
    Thanks for your input.
    Isnt what youve said true of any non basic land?
    Are there any white non basics that youd consider worth running in a white weeine deck in spite of the negatives that come along with being non basic?
    Does karakas even still make the cut, or am i really better off just running 21 plains, and accepting that im going to flood out once in a while?
    Posted in: Legacy (Type 1.5)
  • posted a message on Flagstones of Trokair
    I have most of the cards you mention for dnt, but i keep them in my goblins deck instead.
    The 5 mono colored decks in my signature are really my casual, fun decks i play with my kids.
    Its going to take a while for me to look through all the cards you mentioned, thanks for your advice

    Posted in: Legacy (Type 1.5)
  • posted a message on Flagstones of Trokair
    Thank you
    Posted in: Legacy (Type 1.5)
  • posted a message on Flagstones of Trokair
    Hows everyone tonight?
    Is there any reason to not play 4 flagstones of trokair in a mono white weenie deck?

    Turn 1 i play a flagstones, tap it, do whatever.
    Turn 2, i tap the flagstones, get W in my mana pool, play a second flagstones, sacrifice the 1st one, get a plains, then tap the second flagstones, and have WW to use, with 2 tapped lands
    Theres no tempo loss, correct?

    Playing flagstones instead of plains doesnt make me more susceptible to wasteland or other land destruction because if you destroy the flagstones i get a plains.

    Playing 4 flagstones instead of 1 doesn't make me any more susceptible to back to basics since there will never be more then 1 flagstones in play at a time. In fact, i think it helps because i can tap 1 flagstones, play a second one, sacrifice the taped one to get a plains, and have the new flagstones to tap.

    Ive always read that deck thinning with fetches was a real thing, but the advantage it gives isnt worth the loss of life if you're just running the fetches for the deck thinning.

    Isn't the flagstones doing the exact same thinning as the fetches with no downside at all?

    Am i understanding how flagstones works correctly?

    Im trying to put a 21st land in my white weenie deck, so i get stuck with 1 land openers less often, but obviously, i dont want to get flooded out.

    Even if thinning out the deck is only a slight help, is there any reason to not use flagstones as ive described?
    Plus it does really help sometimes, like with pox or similar cards.

    Thanks for your advice
    Posted in: Legacy (Type 1.5)
  • posted a message on particular versions of cards in deck builder
    hows it going? if this is the wrong spot for this post, please let me know.

    im adding some decks to my account through the deck builder, when i went to add mana confluence, i could only find the masterpiece series art. im looking for the journey into nix version.

    its not a big deal, but id like to change it if i could. am i doing it wrong, or is that version of the card not available for some reason?

    in related news... the journey into nix version of Eidolon of the Great Revel is also not in the deck builder. there are 2 copies of the masters 25 version there instead.

    thanks
    Posted in: Community Discussion
  • posted a message on student of warfare (and other level cards)
    Thank you
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on My White Weenie Deck
    its been years since i checked in for advice about this deck, i try to pay attention to things as they come out, but im sure ive missed stuff.

    anyway, heres the current list


    the biggest question i have lately is trying to add helpful lands. is 2 karakas 1 too many because of the legendary clause? did i miss any other lands i should put in, ive only really been considering lands that enter the battle field untapped and tap for W. the deck runs pretty well and i dont want to give up tempo.
    also im considering trying to squeeze in 1 or 2 student of warfare. im not sure what to cut for it...

    thanks for any advice you might have, just keep in mind that i want the deck to stay legacy legal, and ive kind of put a cap of $50 on any individual card in the deck
    Posted in: Developing (Legacy)
  • posted a message on student of warfare (and other level cards)
    could someone confirm if ive got this correct, or correct me if ive got it wrong?

    i play student of warfare for W. it enters the battlefield as a 1/1 with the "level up W" ability. for all intents and purposes, the lower 2 text boxes (level 2-6, and level 7+) do not exist at this point.
    when cast, it is a... level 0? or it enters the battlefield as a level 1?

    i pay W to level it up, so now its a level 1, but nothing else changes. or did it start at a level 1?

    then i pay another W to level it up again, so now its a level 2, so its a 3/3 with first strike and the level up ability?

    then eventually, when it gets to level 7, its a 4/4 with double strike.. and first strike? and level up?

    and, theoretically, if i had enough mana, i could cast it and level it all the way up to 7 in the same turn?

    my biggest question is when i cast it, does it start out at level 0 or level 1?

    thanks in advance

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Another regeneration question
    Thanks for the detailed answers.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Another regeneration question
    When i regenerate a creature and it gets removed from combat, does it still do its damage during combat, or its removed before damage is assigned?
    For example:
    I attack with a cudgel troll, my daughter block with a serra angel (or some other 4/4 creature) both creatures die, except that i regenerate the troll.
    So it taps ( if it weren't already tapped from attacking), the 4 damage the angel delt to it is removed, and the troll is removed from combat.
    Does the angel still die?

    Thanks for your help...
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.