2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on double strike
    hello.
    my wife has an honor of the pure in play.
    she also has a level 7 student of warfare
    so the student is a 5/5 with double strike.
    she attacks with the student.
    I block with my phyrexian obliterator
    what happens?
    heres what I think:
    during 1st strike damage step the student does 5 damage to the obliterator.
    the obliterator dies and my wife has to sacrifice 5 permanents.
    assuming she has more then 5 permanents and does not have to sac the student, during normal damage step I would take 5 damage because the obliterator died during 1st strike and wasn't there to block for normal damage step.
    if she does not have more then 5 permanents in play, she would have to sac the student when it does damage to the obliterator during 1st strike step so during normal damage step I would take no damage because the student got sacrificed during 1st strike step.

    how close am I to being correct?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on nezumi shortfang
    thank you.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on nezumi shortfang
    let's say I have a nezumi shortfang in play.
    my opponent has 2 cards in hand
    I play hymn to tourach, their hand goes down to 0.
    does the shortfang flip as soon as their hand is empty, or I still have to pay the 2 mana and tap to flip it?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on berserk vs regeneration
    thanks
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on berserk vs regeneration
    I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this, but I want to make sure I'm correct.

    let's say I have a river boa in play.

    I use berserk on the boa, while I'm attacking with it.

    when it comes time to destroy the boa from berserk, I can pay a green mana to regenerate the boa, correct?

    if I play 2 berserks on the boa, can I regenerate it twice? do I need to?,

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on berserk is driving me berserk....
    thank you so much for your very clear answer.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on berserk is driving me berserk....
    hows it going?
    the wording on berserk is confusing to me.
    when is it to late to cast it?
    I attack my opponent with a creature, they say I'm not going to block,I take the damage.
    then I can play berserk? or its already the combat damage step once they say they're not going to block?
    but if that's the case, it almost seems like I have to play berserk before I declare attackers, but I know that cant be correct...
    thanks
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Thoughtsieze
    It was a big day of magic at my house...

    Lets say older daughter plays thoughtseize targeting younger daughter.
    If younger daughter counters thoughtseize, she doesn't loose a card and older daughter doesnt loose 2 life because you loose the life after your opponent discards the card.

    What if younger daughter reveals her hand and its all land.
    I ruled that older daughter still looses 2 life, because thats what felt right.

    Was i correct?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Regeneration vs first strike
    Thanks
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Regeneration vs first strike
    Hello.
    My daughter attacks me with a white knight that has been enchanted with marked by honor
    I block with a cudgel troll.
    During first strike damage, the knight does 4 damage to the troll, i regenerate the troll
    The troll isnt destroyed, gets tapped, has 4 damage removed, and gets removed from combat.
    This means the knight doesnt die, right? Because it has first strike, correct?
    When the troll gets removed from combat, during the first strike phase, it doesnt get to do its damage during normal combat, right?
    At the end of the attack phase i just described, neither creature would die, the knight would be untapped because of marked by honor and the troll would be tapped because of regeneration,
    If the knight didnt have 1st strike, at the end of combat, the knight would be dead, and the troll would be alive but tapped.
    Do i have all of that right?
    Thanks
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Banding
    Im sorry, but my kids are making decks from my boxes of old cards, pegasus, elephants....hot animals with the pre teen girl crowd, so im stuck with banding...
    Anyway....
    Keywords and abilities dont carry over to the band at all, correct?
    If i band a mesa pegasus with a white knight, the 3/3 band does NOT have flying, first strike or protection from black,
    Its just basically a 3/3 vanilla creature, but i get to decide which creature takes how much damage, even if i decide 1 of the creatures takes all of the damage and the other creature takes 0, correct?
    Thanks

    Using card tags is mandatory in the Magic Rulings forum. Please check your private messages to learn how to use them. I've added them for this post.
    -MadMage
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Phyrexian obliterator
    Thanks
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Phyrexian obliterator
    If i play a card like dismember on my daughter's phyrexian obliterator does the -5 count as damage and i have to sacrifice the permanents?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Double strike
    Thanks
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Double strike
    If i attack with a creature that has double strike, lets say its a 4/4. My opponent blocks with a 2/2.
    The blocker dies during the first strike combat stage, but then does the "second strike" go on to damage my opponent? Or it just does another 4 to the already dead creature?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.