If Ali from Cairo is out can a player take lethal commander damage?
I'm assuming commander damage would be separate like a poison counter, but I can't find any rulings for Ali in commander. Any help would be appreciated
10/4/2004 This effect does not prevent damage, it prevents the damage from turning into loss of life. So the full damage is dealt (and abilities that trigger on damage being dealt still trigger), but the full loss of life is not applied.
Since you're taking the damage, and it's not being prevented, your commander damage is going up. You've taken the damage, your life total just has moved to 1 instead of where it would normally be.