I play In Garruk's Wake, in response opponent sac's his tokens to Goblin Bombardment
He targets Anonwon first with 6 (obelisk giving it +2) and then the 4 on some random rogues.
My argument was because he targeted Anowon first and then the other rogues. Based on stack resolution order, Anowon would die last.
So my other rogues he targeted would still be getting their +1 off him.
However, opponent and opponent 2 argued that "he's letting the 6 hits resolve first and then adding more".
That's his decision. If he wants to activate it 6 times targetting the Anowon, let them resolve, and then activate it some more right away, he can. After each one of those resolves, the active player (you in this case) gets priority. The next object on the stack doesn't resolve until all players pass priority in succession. When he gets priority, he can activate Goblin Bombardment again.
117.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.
117.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends.
This has been true since the stack was introduced in 1999.
I've always been under the impression you can add to the stack but once it starts to resolve, you cant stop it.
Because surely if you've accidentally not played a counterspell, you just wait until the stack resolves until the spell you want to counter and then just nope it.
The stack doesn't resolve. The individual objects on the stack resolve, one at a time. And something like Counterspell doesn't care whether its target is on top of the stack, just that it is on the stack somewhere.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Why bother with mere rulings when so many answers can be found in the Rules?