A letter in their Stumpers column asked, If you Fork a Wheel of Fortune, do you get to cast cards from your first new hand before getting your second new hand? Their answer: no. (To be fair, there is a slight chance this is true with the old rules. I actually don’t know—but it certainly is false with the current rules.)
If I remember the rules correctly, this ruling was correct at the time. The rule was that a "batch" resolved completely before anyone could respond. To describe it in modern terms, it would be something like "When one or more spells or effects are on the stack and neither player wants to add more spells or effects to the stack, all spells and effects on the stack resolve in order before any player receive priority".
It wasn't until sixth edition rules that you could do stuff like brainstorm in response to a spell, wait for brainstorm to resolve, find a counterspell among your top three cards and add to your hand, finish resolving brainstorm, and then use the Counterspell you found with brainstorm to counter your opponents spell still on the stack. You wouldn't have the chance to use any of the cards you found with brainstorm until all spells in the batch (basically, on the stack) had finished resolving.
Another interesting rule was that you couldn't respond to triggered effects. So if you had an Auratog and multiple enchantments in play, and your opponent cast Cloudchaser Eagle, you could not sacrifice the enchantment they targeted in response to the Eagle entering the battlefield (or, coming into play, as it was known). You could sacrifice one or more enchantments before the Cloudchaser resolved, but at that time you wouldn't know which enchantment your opponent was going to choose, and they would still be able to choose on of your other enchantments in play and destroy it once the Eagle entered play.