Quote from bravelion83 »I'm not a fan of trying to stretch the boundaries of a challenge like this or like you did in round 1.
Quote from bravelion83 »
On a serious note, this has been an incredible run! Thank you all for some amazing years of custom card design, for making the contests what they are today, and just for having been there, all you wonderful people who share this passion for Magic as a game and custom cards specifically with me. I hope to see as many of you as possible on Nexus. I'm already there.
Quote from slimytrout »For the record, my current submission should still work independent of the revision ("until the end of your next turn").
Quote from slimytrout »Just wanted to make sure, does it count if we just use the name in the rules text? So, would a card named "End of the BBQ" that just said "End of the BBQ deals 3 damage to target creature" qualify? It seems like it currently works within the challenge as written, but it also feels a little like cheating, so I thought I should check.
Quote from Algernone25 »DQ has been overturned at moderator's request
Quote from Mr. Rithaniel »I'm surprised you guys actually googled it.
Though, yes, Möngke is a name meaning "eternal," very rarely given, as I understand it. "Enebish" is a more common name, roughly translating to "not this one," and is meant to confuse and dissuade evil spirits from messing with the bearer of the name. Mongolian naming conventions give people three names. Their given name, their father's name, and then their family name. For centuries, family names were not tracked (there was a big thing in the 90s about recovering them, actually) and so everyone had two names. The character in the flavor text of this card is effectively "Enebish, son of Möngke."
Quote from Eventide Sojourner »Just wanted to get in a note regarding Subchallenge 2 for my card, as neither Algernone nor void has posted a review of my card yet.
The word "endure" appears in my flavor text. The word "endure" is not derivative of "end". The etymology of endure goes back to Latin "indurare".
Quote from void_nothing »I've started on my judgments but not finished them; I will not have them done before the deadline and I am, at this point, exhausted. I am going to have to post the DCC round soon and then get sleep. I promise I will finish as early as possible tomorrow.
Quote from The_Hittite »Wait, wasn't I eliminated last round?
Quote from Eventide Sojourner »That's a new one. I have mana tags for my Round 2 submission around "GGUU", and it's displaying as UUGG. I'd prefer to not get docked points because the site is re-ordering my mana symbols.
Quote from Cardz5000 »Would an instant that gets rid of, but doesn’t target or deal damage to Emrakul automatically fail? You said that all instants fail in the clarifications, but as best I can tell, cyclonic rift should pass this challenge.
Quote from slimytrout »I'm a little confused by the parameters of "can make," since it seems like very many cards could in theory kill an Emrakul if the right situation arose.
For example, would Prey Upon work, or does it need to be able to do it on its own?
Or how about a version of Prey Upon that could give +13/+13?
Alternatively, does creature combat work, i.e., does Deadly Recluse count?
And does it need to be definitely work, or would Diabolic Edict be okay?
I could keep going with corner cases but I think you get the idea.
Quote from IcariiFA » any instant automatically fails the Main Challenge, and will be thus DQ'ed. You've been warned.
An instant that returned all creatures to their owners hands would get around it's protection and should be legal, no?
any instant automatically fails the Main Challenge, and will be thus DQ'ed. You've been warned.
Quote from void_nothing »Quote from IcariiFA » any instant automatically fails the Main Challenge, and will be thus DQ'ed. You've been warned.
An instant that returned all creatures to their owners hands would get around it's protection and should be legal, no?Absolutely, if it doesn't DEBT then protection doesn't stop it.
Quote from Hemlock »Standard-issue Blade
Equip white and red creature
Can't get the space to appear before hybrids...
Quote from Eventide Sojourner »For Round 1 of the July MCC, do Artifact Creatures meet the requirement?
Based on the Clarifications, they don't seem to.
Quote from Clarifications »The card can be a normal artifact without any subtype, an Equipment, a Vehicle, a Fortification, or have any other subtypes somehow. All of these are fine.
Quote from void_nothing »The letter of the challenge itself doesn't actually exclude artifact creatures at all. I don't think the clarification was meant to be exclusive: the cards "can be" any of those things (including "having any other subtypes somehow" by having another card type) but there's no "can't be" that prevents the cards from being other things.
EDIT: And I'm confident that if the Lion had meant noncreature artifacts, he would have said so explicitly.
Quote from Eventide Sojourner »Your foil Alpha Volcanic Island is in the mail, and you should receive it no later than August 32nd.