Quote from Superbajt »I agree my words in the Elegance section don't convey my stance correctly. Let me explain.
This particular ability appeared recently on Brawler and Pale Rider of Trostad. There's no card in Magic that has your cost. Why?
When possible, additional costs like this on creatures are replaced by ETB abilities. Many cards have ETB, so it's easier to remember how you should play with the card if it's ETB.There are around 17 cards with similar text in Magic. Each has its own reason to be created this way. Firstly, if it is related to mana cost, it needs to be done when casting, of course. This explains Bucanneer and similar, and Torgaar. Secondly, there are two cards from Dragons of Tarkir (Orator of Ojutai). They have very strange text for a reason - to unify how they work and make sure you can't deny this bonus. Thirdly, skaabs. For skaabs, their whole deal is having a downside being a cost you need to pay to get an undervalued creature. It's easy to not have a creature in a graveyard to exile. If they have ability like brawler, they would be crazy good. Finally, Demon of Catastrophes. Its situation is similar to yours, right? Well, I don't think so. Final decision how a card should be templated should be made by gameplay implications. There are multiple ways to template very similar things. What is the best? For Demon, it's cast cost, as it would either need to sacrifice itself if it ETBed, or be too good if it said "another creature". For Brawler and your card, as I said, it would be a terrible topdeck, and it doesn't need to have additional cost to work correctly. Thus, it should default to ETB ability.
Finally, please be honest - would you really design your card this way if not for the subchallenge? I really think you know you wouldn't include this clause if void_nothing didn't make you do it.
Quote from Clockwork GamerClarifications time!
''aura card that doesn't enchant a creature.'' Does that mean under no (normal) circumstances can it be applied to a creature?
Challenge aside, would Confiscate be disqualified?
Quote from CompRules »303.4. Some enchantments have the subtype “Aura.” An Aura enters the battlefield attached to an object or player. What an Aura can be attached to is restricted by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, “Enchant”). Other effects can limit what a permanent can be enchanted by.
303.4a An Aura spell requires a target, which is restricted by its enchant ability.
303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or “enchants,” that object or player.
303.4c If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)
303.4d An Aura can’t enchant itself. If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. An Aura that’s also a creature can’t enchant anything. If this occurs somehow, the Aura becomes unattached, then is put into its owner’s graveyard. (These are state-based actions. See rule 704.)
303.4e An Aura’s controller is separate from the enchanted object’s controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same. If an Aura enchants an object, changing control of the object doesn’t change control of the Aura, and vice versa. Only the Aura’s controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Aura grants an ability to the enchanted object (with “gains” or “has”), the enchanted object’s controller is the only one who can activate that ability.
303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a player’s control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesn’t specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the
battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Aura’s enchant ability and any other applicable effects.
303.4g If an Aura is entering the battlefield and there is no legal object or player for it to enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard instead of entering the battlefield.
303.4h If an effect attempts to attach an Aura on the battlefield to an object or player, that object or player must be able to be enchanted by it. If the object or player can’t be, the Aura doesn’t move.
Quote from MaokunI got good reviews but my card was still second to last. I guess the quality of the submissions was great this round, congrats to the winners and thanks to 'mancer!
Quote from Clockwork GamerDoes Mobilization meet the second challenge or does the card really need to put multipe tokens per trigger?
Quote from LegendaryKamiJust making sure - Is it ok to create a card that depends on an opponent action/status in play/grave/lab ect. ?
Such as destroying a creature in play or bouncing a permanent.
Quote from Clockwork GamerI don't say this to bash on The letter 3 in any way, but I always assumed as long as all the information was there and that it wasn't confusing, you couldn't lose points for putting the rarity next to the name instead of the type. I myself haven't been affected by it, but I still find it unfair that some judges deduct points in quality while others don't.
Can it be made clear in the rules whether or not you can lose points for that, and if you can, point the newer constestants to a sample text card?
Quote from enLightMy thoughts on the issue are this: Uniform formatting of a text card exists so that readers can focus on analyzing the substance of a card rather than waste time searching for information. Imagine the chaos of not having a uniform format. In these examples, all the information is present, but the formatting is different:
Quote from PsiJet2. The name was actually below it in my MSE, for some odd reason it didn't apparently do such here.
Quote from enLightThe deadline for judges is tonight at midnight. However, there is an unusually large number of players this month, so it wouldn't surprise me if Round 2 was delayed a day or two.
But rest assured, the cards in your bracket will be judged.