Quote from Chris The Avataryou wont beable to sac it or blink it nothing. It is gone. Wizards took a good ability and gimped it for no reason
Quote from MandersHex
Skander: Every post I read from him reminds me of Family Mafia. He reads 100% genuine townie to me. If he turns up scum, I quit mafia.
Quote from Ace RimmerI will note that it seems like Turn to Mist and Momentary Blink would work with this mechanic pretty well. As both of those actually remove the creature from the game. So Turn to Mist could be a great combo card with these creatures.
Quote from HGaramondI don't think it works that way. They cause the creature to be removed from the game, then returned, but that still counts as leaving play. As such, the pesky little replacement effect of Unearth means that the "remove and return" effect gets replaced with a far less sexy "remove never to be seen again."
5/1/2007 If the spell targeted by Delay was played with flashback, Delay's effect will remove it from the game, not the flashback effect. The card will get time counters and gain suspend (if it didn't already have suspend).
Quote from tv14sldIt's flashback in the creature variety.
Quote from Ace RimmerHow does the replacement effect dictate that they dont come back? Turn to mist brings them back, it interacts with them while RFG, which is exactly what they'll be. And it was Turn to Mist that put it there, same with Blink.
Think about Delay vs Flashback. This is the same idea. And it even says in the rulings:
Its the same here, Mist removes the creature from the game, not the Unearth effect. And just like Delay adds the counters, Mist will put the creature back into play EoT.
Quote from FumarDoesn't work.
The creature would leave play, so the Unearth clause triggers and the creature is removed from the game by the Unearth effect, not the Turn into Mist... it would be like saying a creature targeted by Turn into Mist returns to play if its removed by Unmake in response.
Quote from Ace RimmerThen you tell me why Delay - Flashback works and this doesnt. Because the spell would leave the stack, thus Flashback triggers and its removed from the game. Flashback has the same clause that Unearth does.
And about Unmaking... your logic doesnt make any sense. Because that is no where near the same scenario. The game would counter Turn to Mist upon trying to resolve.
Quote from FumarMy logic makes perfect sense: it was just a bad example, though.
A flashbacked spell survives a delay because it doesn't have a "If this spell would leave the stack, remove it from the game." trigger or anything of the sort.
It has instructions: Play this spell, then remove it from the game. Do remember that the last part of playing a spell is putting it in the graveyard after it resolves.
Delay intervenes during the playing part - it removes it from the game on its own and when it eventually gets played after the suspension, it is played in a nonflashback kind of way. When the game tries to remove it from the game as per the flashback instructions, it can't because its no longer there.
In this case, it would be like Evoke and Boomerang - the evoked creature sacrifice trigger is there but it gets returned before that happens.
Unearth is a whole other deal. It's a replacement effect (in part, the "remove from the game at EOT" is triggered though), not a trigger like removing a flashbacked spell after its cast or sacrificing an evoked creature after it hits play.
It says "If this would leave play, remove it from the game." Turn Into Mist tries to make it leave play. The card says "No. I'm removing myself from the game instead, my way."
502.22a Flashback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities: one functions while the card is in a player's graveyard and the other functions while the card is on the stack. "Flashback [cost]" means "You may play this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost" and "If the flashback cost was paid, remove this card from the game instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack." Playing a spell using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 409.1b and 409.1f-h.
Quote from FumarI wasn't aware of the full ruling of the second part of the Flashback ability.
Still, we would need to get the official ruling on this one to sort it out.
Quote from Ace Rimmeri thought that might be the problem. Reading Flashback on the card and in the rules are slightly different.
I agree with we do need the official ruling. But looking at Flashback, it looks pretty good that Mist and Blink will interact with it pretty well. Not that it would be overly powerful really. Its the same thing people were saying about Evoke.