Quote from Heidrek »Do these use the stack? Can they be countered/redirected? They retain the colour of their original card (such a a red damage source), what other characteristics?
Quote from Goblinboy » just think of it as Ankh (you know... an Ankh) More Pork, Ian. That's how I remember it :tongue2: (without the e, anyway)
Quote from NeoNataku »
Quote from Ankh-Morporkian »They do retain the color and other characteristics.
Quote from GoblinKing.Fxc »They do happen on the stack I think, and I know for a fact they can't be countered.
Protection is a static ability, written "Protection from [quality]." See rule 502.7, "Protection."
A permanent with protection can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can't be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.
A permanent with protection can't be enchanted by enchantments that have the stated quality. Such enchantments enchanting the permanent with protection will be put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based effect. (See rule 420, "State-Based Effects.")
A permanent with protection can't be equipped by Equipment that has the stated quality. Such Equipment stops equipping that permanent, but remains in play. (See rule 420, "State-Based Effects.")
Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent that has protection is prevented.
Any damage that would be dealt to a permanent with protection from sources having that quality is prevented.
If a creature with protection attacks, it can't be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality.
Quote from Ankh-Morporkian »They do use the stack. As they are activated abilities, very few cards can counter them(I think the only ones are Stifle, Squelch, Bind, Interdict), and even fewer can redirect them(offhand, only Willbender). They do retain the color and other characteristics.
Quote from Orange MageIn general, Machius is right on the button. You should follow his line of thinking.