I like the templating on that. Showing ppl what the flipped side is and subsequent ability is kinda cool. I guess this is the situation where you choose which side you're using then? Nothing says "when you cast ~, put it onto the battlefield transformed."
The big thing that I'm wondering is if these DFC's make a "more balanced" version of "Oops, no lands" decks viable. An effect like Goblin Charbelcher, Balustrade Spy will only see the qualities of the nonland half and keep going, right?
When you don't have to rely on just a few Moxen or SSGs in your deck to produce the mana you need to get a combo started or to get you to charbelcher range and let you absolutely destroy oppoennts, which may make these decks feel less vulnerable.
Wait a moment... These cards plus treasure hunt (which is not historic legal) allows you to totally deck out before playing Thassa's Oracle (also historic legal), potentially bringing back inverter decks without requiring more than one color...
i saw the video you choose which side you play with before the game begins i have no idea how this is gonna work in commmander if you can use 2 of the same on but each opposite sides
If you can't have the option of one side or the other during play, that seems to kinda defeat the purpose of double sided cards. Why would you ever choose that land side?
I'm pretty sure it's always front facing. You choose what mode you want in your hand. That's what I got from the video at least
With the caveat of just waiting for the official rules accompaniment: the video suggests you choose what side to play/cast at the moment you choose to play or cast it. If you have a hand with 1 other land, it gives you a second land. If you have a hand with 3 lands already, you can just use it for the spell. It is meant to offer flexibiility.
I do like the Instant side of the card. It actually seems reasonable especially when stapled to a land.
I mean... this always feels good, right? Instead of playing 4 mountains you just play 4 of these, and you always have a "mulligan" like card to redraw your hand, or you just have a slow land. Maybe if you're playing a super fast deck you don't want this, but I feel like it is good.
I'm inclined to think the idea that you choose before the beginning of the game is a misinterpretation. It's more plausible that you choose while playing. But of course we'll have to wait for the official rules primer for confirmation. What this means is that if you have a hand low on lands, you get a land. If you have a dead hand/too many lands, you can cast the instant. The worst case scenario is top-drawing it, but the opportunity cost of this is low because the card itself is taking up a land slot. Finally, lands entering the battlefield tapped are less suitable for aggro builds.
Edit: Corrected the error that card is an instant, not sorcery, so that I hopefully don't get twenty replies informing me of this fact.