Quote from PrettehBoiiUhhhh reread the card....the cards cast are exiled. So in order to get them in your graveyard, you do have to refrain from casting...
Quote from izzetmageIf the store owner says that I can't trade in the premises, I'll just go outside. If he says that I can't trade within 10m of his premises, I'll go to 11 meters. If he says that he doesn't want to see me trading, I will put a basket over his head and continue trading.
Quote from Stinky-Dinkins
Yes, he's a local legend. He's only known to take his clothes off before he goes into the Ladies' Lockerroom. Nobody knows what he does in there because he's invisible, but it's almost certainly tons of masturbating.
Quote from Magicman657My first thought was "Mind's Desire? Not quite." My second was "Izzet Genesis Wave? Yea, that's about right." I think this card is going to be very powerful.
Quote from Firevine »Quote from Greenlexluthor »
I am so confused about this set.
In your defense, it seems that WotC is too.
Quote from Greenlexluthor »
I am so confused about this set.
Quote from Vaevictis FishtankThe cards are exiled first, then cast, putting them on the stack. They then go to the graveyard as they resolve (unless they say otherwise).
Quote from Konstant1nI was wondering why Council of the Absolute had the 'non-creature' clause then I remembered... This is modern magic.
Quote from SteBI saw Elvis riding a unicorn with his buddy Michael Jackson on the night sky yesterday. You can say it didnt happen all you want. It did.
Quote from MastodonWhen I throw a deck together, all I do is stick 3 surgical extractions and 3 pithing needles in the sideboard. Then I think to myself "that'll do"
Quote from AngeliqueIt can but it wont do much good. Experiments will finish resolving and leave the stack. Then when Reverberate tries to resolve, it doesn't have a legal target and is countered upon resolution.
Quote from Powdered Blackblade
Everyone knows that good luck and good game are such insincere terms that any man who does not connect his right hook with the offender's jaw on the very utterance of such a phrase is no man I would consider as such.
Quote from Ninja Caterpie
Last time it went large-small-large, it went "happy adventure land", "mana filled happy adventure land", "DEAD MANA ELDRAZI OVERRUN SAD DEFENSE LAND."
Quote from Snow-FurGunna need a foil playset of Epic Experiment.
Quote from 1_dvs_bstdsomeday I'll get this wurm out on turn five, and I will finally be recognized as the man who wasted a lot of time and effort to prove some people wrong on the internet. it will be a glorious day.
Quote from arbitraryarmorIs it me, or is there a cycle of x[c][c] sorceries? First Rakdos's Return, now this... And so far, they're all freaking cool.
Quote from TK-421 »
mithril ax promoted illegal activity and has been suspended for a week.
Quote from http://draw3cards.com/questions/6215/after-cast-from-exile-where-do-the-cards-go-can-i-recast »The cards go to the graveyard.
601.2 To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that spell started to be cast (see rule 715. Handling Illegal Actions). Announcements and payments can't be altered after they've been made.
So, to cast a card from exile, you take it from exile and put it on the stack.
Then, once it finishes resolving:
608.2k As the final part of an instant or sorcery spell's resolution, the spell is put into its owner's graveyard. As the final part of an ability's resolution, the ability is removed from the stack and ceases to exist.
Obviously, there are some cards which alter where they go once they resolve. For example, casting Red Sun's Zenith from exile would have it shuffled into your library.
Quote from MooshSo for Epic Experiment the cards will all end up in your graveyard.
My question however is how does this work with a spell like Mizzium Mortars? Say X=3, and of course Mizzium Mortars' CMC is 2. Per Epic Experiment I can now cast Mizzium Mortars without paying it's mana cost. Now Mizzium Mortars states "You may cast this spell for its overload cost." Well Epic Experiment said I could cast it without paying it's mana cost, and now Mizzium Mortars is saying I may cast this spell for its overload cost. So in theory I can cast an overloaded Mizzium Mortars and all I did was pay 5 mana and this doesn't go into if I drew a second or third instant or sorcery.
I followed the rules of each card, I don't see why not. Am I missing something?
Quote from LekillGoodbye Pyromancer's Ascension, hello Epic Experiment. Modern Storm may have just become insane again.
Play a few rituals go off for 6:
past in flames
Draw epic experiment out of any of the cantrips, repeat.
4x on Storm.
Quote from Book of the Dead »Does the Walker choose the Path, or the Path the Walker?
Quote from PretendObjectI was thinking the same thing. I'm really leaning towards playing Izzet Storm in modern now.