If people are sick of reading about stuff just stop taking part. You have 100% control over what you read. Simic Ascendancy isn't going to get banned just because you didn't tell someone to shut up on the internet.
Your friend can do as you describe after blocks have been declared, before the combat damage step. The Captain is on the battlefield before the combat damage step, and his ability affects the Gorger as soon as he's on the battlefield. Barring any other shenanigans, your Nighthawk will die in the first strike combat damage step and won't be able to damage the Gorger.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm a former judge (lapsed), who keeps up to date on rules and policy. Keep in mind that judges' answers aren't necessarily more valid than those of people who aren't judges; what matters is we can quote the rules to back up our answers. When in doubt, ask for such quotes.
He discards Stromkirk Captain with Call the Bloodline and casts out his Captain.
Does his Stromkirk Captain bring up his Falkenrath Gorger to a 3/2 first strike and kill my Vampire Nighthawk, or does he only deal the two damage, and after the damage is dealt does his creature kick up?