Quote from Mistermind »I have a friend arguing with me about needing to own multiple copies of the new Avacyn and just using multiple checklists since it is Legendary. Can someone point me out the rule because I'm not even sure where it would be listed.
A checklist card is only used while the card it represents is in a hidden zone. The card represented by a checklist card is not a playable Magic card until the checklist card has been placed in a public zone. Multiple checklists cannot be used to represent a single copy of the actual card. For each checklist card used, the player must have a copy of the actual card available, though they are not considered sideboard cards and are not presented to their opponent.