I currently have 2 Paradox Hazes in play. I then play Serenity during my turn. During my next turn, am I correct in that Paradox Haze would trigger first because it was played first and then Serenity would destroy Paradox Haze, allowing me to keep the extra upkeep for the turn.
I found the following here that indicates that I get to chose the order that my cards trigger if both have a begin at phase trigger. With that said, I believe I could choose to activate Serenity first to negate the effect of my Paradox Haze. Is this logic valid?
The basic rule of thumb is: first resolve
upkeep abilities controlled by your opponent in any order he or she chooses,
then resolve upkeep abilities controlled by you in any order you choose.
No, you are wrong. The three triggers (two paradox haze and one serenity) would trigger at the same time. Since you control all of those effects, you can choose the order. No matter how you choose the order, you get in any case a total of three upkeeps and your enchantments and artifacts will get destroyed.
It only really matters if you have other artifacts or enchantments in play that trigger at the beginning of your upkeeps. If you have the serenity resolve first, those will get destroyed, before the haze resolve, thus trigger only once. If you have the serenity resolve last, you get additional triggers from those other permanents, since you get your additional upkeeps before the serenity resolves.
Not quite. Paradox Haze gives you a second upkeep after your first one, not when its ability resolves. If you have other artifacts or enchantments with upkeep triggers, the manner in which you stack the triggers won't matter, as Serenity will destroy everything in the first upkeep phase. Then, after both players pass priority, you will get a second upkeep phase.
The abilities of permanents resolve independantly of their source, so once they're on the stack, they will resolve even if their source has been destroyed.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DCI Level 2 Judge
If your question is "What would a judge do is this situation?", only one person's answer is relevant, and that is the Head Judge at your event. I can quote the rules, but I don't know your HJ.