My opponent had a nice creature on the battlefield. I had enchanted it with Ice Cage on a previous turn. Later, I wanted to gain control of it and use it to attack, etc., so I cast Mind Control on it, knowing that it would dissolve the Ice Cage.
Seeing this, my opponent cast a Mana Leak which I couldn't pay 3 for. Therefore, MY QUESTION IS:
Since my Mind Control was on the stack and never resolved, does the Ice Cage stay on the creature? Or, since I cast it and chose the creature as the target, does the Ice Cage nevertheless vanish, and he gets to attack and block with the creature again?
Targets for spells are chosen when the spell is cast. This include aura spells. When you cast the Control, the Cage's ability will trigger. Even if the Control is countered, the trigger will still resolve like normal and the Cage will be sacrificed. So the net result in this case is that your Control is countered and the Cage is in the graveyard.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DCI Level 2 Judge
Scientists have calculated that the chance of anything so patently absurd actually existing are millions to one. But magicians have calculated that million-to-one chances crop up nine times out of ten.