Yes, Giver of Runes works here, the ability of Maze of Ith will fizzle. The Maze is colorless, and Giver makes it so the creature can't be the target of abilities from colorless sources.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm a former judge (lapsed), who keeps up to date on rules and policy. Keep in mind that judges' answers aren't necessarily more valid than those of people who aren't judges; what matters is we can quote the rules to back up our answers. When in doubt, ask for such quotes.
Usually, abilities will have no color since nothing defines them to have a color; it's just not a characteristic that abilities have. They don't have names either, for instance. But protection, as MadMage says, checks the attributes of the source of an ability, not the ability itself.