Player A casts Lava Dart on player B. Player B casts Shining Shoal X=2 targeting Player A and choosing Lava Dart as source. The 1 damage from the dart gets redirected to Player A. If player A now in the same turn casts the same Lava Dart from the graveyard with Flashback again with player B as target, will the redirection from Shining Shoal happen again? Is this the same source as before?
I'd love to see the rules on this but I can't find it anywhere.
The second Lava Dart is different from the first as far as the game is concerned (C.R. 400.7). (In general, an object that moves to another zone becomes a different object in its new zone [C.R. 400.7].) Thus, the two spells are different "sources" of damage for purposes of Shining Shoal, so it won't affect any damage from the second Lava Dart in this scenario.
Thank you very much! Concerning Shining Shoal, I have another question: If the source I choose has infect, will the target get poison or -1/-1 counters instead of just normal damage?
Yes, the source of damage remains the same, so if the source has infect, it will deal infect damage to Shining Shoal's target.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm a former judge (lapsed), who keeps up to date on rules and policy. Keep in mind that judges' answers aren't necessarily more valid than those of people who aren't judges; what matters is we can quote the rules to back up our answers. When in doubt, ask for such quotes.