Okay, so double major copies a creature spell and makes it non-legendary, Easy enough. But what happens when I use Rite of Replication on that token, will it still be non-legendary?
I say that when you copy the creature it doesn't maintain that affect being that effects that change card types aren't brought over to their token copies, but my brother says it will as he is targeting the non-legendary creature token and therefore he will make more of those exact tokens. Help?
Your brother is correct.
Double Major creates a copy of a spell whose copiable characteristics does not include the legendary supertype. When that spell copy resolves, the token that enters the battlefield will likewise not have the legendary supertype in its copiable characteristics.
Your brother is right, the Rite of Replication token copy(ies) will be nonlegendary. When a copy effect copies something that's a product of a copy effect, the exceptions to that previous copy effect, as identified by the word "except", carry over to the new copy.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm a former judge (lapsed), who keeps up to date on rules and policy. Keep in mind that judges' answers aren't necessarily more valid than those of people who aren't judges; what matters is we can quote the rules to back up our answers. When in doubt, ask for such quotes.