Lets say older daughter plays thoughtseize targeting younger daughter.
If younger daughter counters thoughtseize, she doesn't loose a card and older daughter doesnt loose 2 life because you loose the life after your opponent discards the card.
What if younger daughter reveals her hand and its all land.
I ruled that older daughter still looses 2 life, because thats what felt right.
1. Yes, if Thoughtseize is countered, none of its effects will happen. The other player won't discard and the player who cast Thoughtseize won't lose any life.
2. Yes, they'll still lose 2 life, even if the targeted player has no cards that can be discarded.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DCI Level 2 Judge
Scientists have calculated that the chance of anything so patently absurd actually existing are millions to one. But magicians have calculated that million-to-one chances crop up nine times out of ten.