Quote from Horseshoe_Hermit »
Still, what happened to the Octopus spell? It resolved, it "becomes part of an object on the battlefield"(721.2b), and it "does not enter the battlefield"(702.139c). But it's still an object, so if it's not in any zone, it's outside the game (400.11). Which rule has the exception due to mutate? Is it an object that's not a permanent? Is it not an object yet a card? Is it inside the game not in a zone?
Quote from Horseshoe_Hermit »That rule doesn't say it's on the battlefield. It says it's part of an object on the battlefield. Not every quality of a whole is true of any part.
>>> Actually, the puzzlement I have is settled by an answer to one question, attached at the end.
If the card is an object and it's on the battlefield then the rule defining them says it IS a permanent. We know there has to still be object semantics for components of a merged permanent. CR 721 is loaded with ways that we still treat components as having the complex qualities of objects, like face-down status for example. Their being objects is not in question.
The intent is that some objects have components, and the necessity is that components are objects. The components are always cards, and those cards represent the object made of those components, and certain references to components pass on to the object merging them and vice versa. But the components are no longer meant to be addressable by player choices. They can't be targets & they can't be chosen as attackers.
If my opponent merges two cards without flash, & I gain control of the merged permanent, & my opponent controls Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir, does a Mutual Destruction I cast have flash (triggering my Slitherwisp) ?