Im sorry if this question has already been asked or in the wrong forum.
My question and question of my playgroup is can we run the triomes in s 2 color edh deck?
Heres our reasoning as to why we think we can.
Other trilands, lets use mystic monastery, say tap add W, or R, or U, these are not in parenthesis giving it the color identity as U,W,& R
These trilands, lets use the raugrin, says (add U,R, or W)
They have the basic land types with (tap add x color) in parentheses as reminder text like extort.
As far as we know reminder text doesn't affect color identity
then if it does tap for a color not in our color identity, it will tap as colorless as we read in a rule
The reason as to why we can't is because it has that can tap for a color not in our color identity
Triomes can't be used in a 2-color Commander deck, due to this rule:
"903.5d A card with a basic land type may be included in a Commander deck only if each color of mana it could produce is included in the commander’s color identity.
Example: Wort, the Raidmother’s color identity is red and green. A Wort Commander deck may include land cards with the basic land types Mountain and/or Forest. It can’t include any land cards with the basic land types Plains, Island, or Swamp."
Edit: I should also point out that the rule making you produce colorless instead of colors outside of your commander's color identity no longer exists. For example, your City of Brass or Prismatic Vista can be used to produce any color of mana no matter the deck, not just the colors of your commaander's color identity. Useful for commanders that can cast off-color stuff, like Sen Triplets.