702.139e A mutated permanent has all abilities of each card and token that represents it. Its other characteristics are derived from the topmost card or token.
721.2c Because a merged permanent is the same object that it was before, it hasn’t just come under a player’s control, any continuous effects that affected it continue to do so, and so on.
Quote from Rosy Dumplings »If you put Parcelbeast under the nexus, will you have access to the activated ability even when the land isn’t animated? Wanted to confirm.
Quote from user_938036 »Quote from Rosy Dumplings »If you put Parcelbeast under the nexus, will you have access to the activated ability even when the land isn’t animated? Wanted to confirm.Yes, no part of being a land or not being a creature removes the existence of abilities.
305.7 If an effect sets a land’s subtype to one or more of the basic land types, the land no longer has its old land type. It loses all abilities generated from its rules text, its old land types, and any copy effects affecting that land, and it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type. Note that this doesn’t remove any abilities that were granted to the land by other effects. Setting a land’s subtype doesn’t add or remove any card types (such as creature) or supertypes (such as basic, legendary, and snow) the land may have. If a land gains one or more land types in addition to its own, it keeps its land types and rules text, and it gains the new land types and mana abilities.
Quote from Rezzahan »Actually, it will not be a land, because the merged base permanent is not a land. 205.1b says, that prior card types are retained, the excepted card type is not added. E.g. "it's still a land" doesn't make the permanent a land if it wasn't a land before.
205.1b Some effects change an object’s card type, supertype, or subtype but specify that the object
retains a prior card type, supertype, or subtype. In such cases, all the object’s prior card types,
supertypes, and subtypes are retained. This rule applies to effects that use the phrase “in
addition to its types” or that state that something is “still a [type, supertype, or subtype].” Some
effects state that an object becomes an “artifact creature”; these effects also allow the object to
retain all of its prior card types and subtypes. Some effects state that an object becomes a
“[creature type or types] artifact creature”; these effects also allow the object to retain all of its
prior card types and subtypes other than creature types, but replace any existing creature types.
Quote from davidb32 »Please tell me I'm crazy or just can't read.
Inkmoth Nexus' effect uses the "still a [type]" language so all the object’s prior card types,
supertypes, and subtypes are retained.
However, the effect also uses the "[creature type] artifact creature" language, so the object [is] to retain all of its prior card types and subtypes other than creature types.
Which is it?
Quote from peteroupc »The last sentence of C.R. 205.1b was added with the rules update for Throne of Eldraine. According to the update bulletin for that set, the sentence is intended to modify the "artifact creature" exception to the general rule that if "an object is said to become a certain list of types, these overwrite any other types it has" (review C.R. 205.1a).
Quote from GakaI, for one, welcome our new Norin the Wary overlords.
Also, if that ability is activated again, does the Octopus become a 1/1 as well as gaining the relevant keywords (and for how long?), or is that part ignored?