Quote from Nigh****ch »In other words, are you allowed to sideboard in cards that violate the companion requirement but still keep that creature as your companion?
702.138a Companion is a keyword ability that functions outside the game. It’s written as
“Companion—[Condition].” Before the game begins, you may reveal one card you own from
outside the game with a companion ability whose condition is fulfilled by your starting deck.
(See rule 103.1b.) If you do, once during that game, you may play that card from outside the
702.138b If a companion ability refers to your starting deck, it refers to your deck after you’ve set
aside any sideboard cards. In a Commander game, this is also before you’ve set aside your
Quote from EloraJS »
Ok, the release notes explicitly say my Commander has to meet the requirements, but that comp rule is confusing.
103. Starting the Game
103.1. At the start of a game, each player shuffles their deck so that the cards are in a random order.
Each player may then shuffle or cut their opponents’ decks. The players’ decks become their
103.1a If a player is using a sideboard (see rule 100.4) or cards being represented by checklist cards
(see rule 713), those cards are set aside before shuffling.
103.1b If a player wishes to reveal a card with a companion ability that they own from outside the
game, they may do so after setting aside their sideboard. A player may reveal no more than one
card this way, and may do so only if their deck fulfills the condition of that card’s companion
ability. (See rule 702.138, “Companion.”)
103.1c In a Commander game, each player puts their commander from their deck face up into the
command zone after having the opportunity to reveal a card with a companion ability and before
shuffling. See rule 903.6.
103.1d In a Conspiracy Draft game, each player puts any number of conspiracy cards from their
sideboard into the command zone before shuffling. See rule 905.4.