Quote from Iginto »So basically i summon a Thunderblust which has persist on it and my opponent used Contradict to counter the spell. So will persist still work even though it says on the rules that 'counter: cancel a spell or ability so it doesn’t resolve and none of its effects occur'?
702.78a Persist is a triggered ability. “Persist” means “When this permanent is put into a graveyard
from the battlefield, if it had no -1/-1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner’s
control with a -1/-1 counter on it.”
700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.”