I'm building a Sen Triplets deck an i am running Celestial Dawn. I am thinking about running Nyx Lotus, but with CD making all artifacts tap for colorless if they tap for a specific color, Im not sure if it would be worth it.
My question is, will CD cause the NL to tap for colorless or will the NL be treated as a artifact that can tap for any color?
I know it will only tap for the color I choose while casting it.
Using card tags is mandatory in the Magic Rulings forum. Please check your private messages to learn how to use them. I've added them for this post.
Celestial Dawn doesn't affect the types of mana nonland permanents you control could produce, nor does it change mana symbols on any permanents you control (thus doesn't affect your devotion to a color or combination of colors [C.R. 700.5]) (compare Celestial Dawn with False Dawn, in their Oracle texts [C.R. 108.1]; see also Contamination).
Thus, despite Celestial Dawn, you can tap Nyx Lotus for mana of any color equal to your devotion to that color. However, due to Celestial Dawn, you can spend "white mana as though it were mana of any color" and nonwhite mana "only as though it were colorless mana", so that as a result, for example, to cast a spell that costs WUBRG, you can spend white mana and only white mana to pay that cost (see also C.R. 107.4a).
@Thorpe991 : Using card tags is mandatory in the Magic Rulings forum. Please check your private messages to learn how to use them. I've added them for this post.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm a former judge (lapsed), who keeps up to date on rules and policy. Keep in mind that judges' answers aren't necessarily more valid than those of people who aren't judges; what matters is we can quote the rules to back up our answers. When in doubt, ask for such quotes.
Thanks for the answer.
So as long as I tap my artifacts for white mana they can become any color?.
Not exactly. Celestial Dawn lets you spend white mana as though it were mana of any color, even if you tapped an artifact (such as Nyx Lotus) for that white mana. Even if you spend that white mana as though it were, say, red mana, that mana remains white for all purposes other than for Celestial Dawn's purposes (C.R. 609.4; see also C.R. 609.4b).
An non basic lands become basic plains?
Celestial Dawn makes all lands you control into Plains, so that they have "T: Add W" and lose all their other usual abilities (C.R. 305.6, 305.7), but Celestial Dawn doesn't change whether those lands are basic or nonbasic (C.R. 305.7; see also C.R. 305.8 and this thread). For example, in general, due to Celestial Dawn, Watery Grave you control becomes a Plains, but remains a nonbasic land and can't produce any color of mana other than W (C.R. 305.7).