Quote from user_938036 »You cannot retroactively decide you wanted to tap other lands for mana. This is flat out cheating.
Quote from Mgnoob1 »I agree but he wants to see an actual rule. I'm having trouble finding it.
Quote from Mgnoob1 »
I agree but he wants to see an actual rule. I'm having trouble finding it.
110.5. A permanent’s status is its physical state. There are four status categories, each of which has two possible values: tapped/untapped, flipped/unflipped, face up/face down, and phased in/phased out. Each permanent always has one of these values for each of these categories.
110.5c A permanent retains its status until a spell, ability, or turn-based action changes it, even if that status is not relevant to it.
Quote from chaikov »Quote from Mgnoob1 »I agree but he wants to see an actual rule. I'm having trouble finding it.I'm afraid you won't find any rule that says "Players are not allowed to reverse previous actions when they realize they've made bad choices."
(yes, I know about rule 722, but it doesn't apply here)
Rules (mostly) tell what CAN be done.
The rulebook of all the things that CAN'T be done would be very long...
118.3. A player can’t pay a cost without having the necessary resources to pay it fully. For example, a player with only 1 life can’t pay a cost of 2 life, and a permanent that’s already tapped can’t be tapped to pay a cost. See rule 202, “Mana Cost and Color,” and rule 602, “Activating Activated Abilities.”
118.3a. Paying mana is done by removing the indicated mana from a player’s mana pool. (Players can always pay 0 mana.) If excess mana remains in that player’s mana pool after making that payment, the player announces what mana is still there.