This site works best with JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript to get the best experience from this site.
Quote from lucasbpc »Adventures only exist while on hand, and they have no creature type, so no.
cursedereaper asked: Okay Mark. You just said creatures with Adventure allow you to cast them from your hand. But what if a card allows me to cast cards from the library, the graveyard etc. The article never mentioned that Adventures are only allowed to be cast from hand but that anywhere except the stack they are seen as creatures. You can only cast the Adventure (aka the instant/sorcery) from your hand. EDIT: Eli just texted me. You can cast the adventure from any zone if a card lets you cast the card from that zone.
601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell includes proposal of the spell (rules 601.2a–d) and determination and payment of costs (rules 601.2f–h). To cast a spell, a player follows the steps listed below, in order. A player must be legally allowed to cast the spell to begin this process (see rule 601.3). If a player is unable to comply with the requirements of a step listed below while performing that step, the casting of the spell is illegal ; the game returns to the moment before the casting of that spell was proposed (see rule 721, “Handling Illegal Actions”). 601.2a To propose the casting of a spell, a player first moves that card (or that copy of a card) from where it is to the stack. It becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has all the characteristics of the card (or the copy of a card) associated with it, and that player becomes its controller. The spell remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, or an effect moves it elsewhere. 601.2b If the spell is modal, the player announces the mode choice (see rule 700.2). If the player wishes to splice any cards onto the spell (see rule 702.46), they reveal those cards in their hand. If the spell has alternative or additional costs that will be paid as it’s being cast such as buyback or kicker costs (see rules 118.8 and 118.9), the player announces their intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see rule 601.2f). A player can’t apply two alternative methods of casting or two alternative costs to a single spell. If the spell has a variable cost that will be paid as it’s being cast (such as an {X} in its mana cost; see rule 107.3), the player announces the value of that variable. If the value of that variable is defined in the text of the spell by a choice that player would make later in the announcement or resolution of the spell, that player makes that choice at this time instead of that later time. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes hybrid mana symbols, the player announces the nonhybrid equivalent cost they intend to pay. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes Phyrexian mana symbols, the player announces whether they intend to pay 2 life or the corresponding colored mana cost for each of those symbols. Previously made choices (such as choosing to cast a spell with flashback from a graveyard or choosing to cast a creature with morph face down) may restrict the player’s options when making these choices. {... (rules for selecting targets) ...} 601.2e The game checks to see if the proposed spell can legally be cast. If the proposed spell is illegal, the game returns to the moment before the casting of that spell was proposed (see rule 721, “Handling Illegal Actions”).
Quote from papa_funk »Not running a card because you wouldn't have fun with it is the most important reason not to run a card.
Quote from cyberium_neo »Here's a relevant question: If I have both Haakon and Kess, Dissident Mage on battlefield, one lets me cast knight spell the other allows me to cast an instant/sorcery during my turn, would it work?
Quote from peteroupc »In general, for the purposes of Haakon's second ability, Muldrotha's second ability, Karador's second ability, and any other ability with an effect that lets a player play a "card" with certain characteristics from a particular zone, what is relevant is what characteristics the card in that zone had before it began to be played due to such an ability, not what characteristics the object it becomes this way has. See also this thread. In the case of casting an adventure from the graveyard this way, however, it remains to be seen whether creature/adventure cards behave like casting a card face down in the sense that the card has only certain characteristics (namely those of the chosen part), rather than those of the card as a whole, before that card goes on the stack (see also C.R. 707.4).
Quote from cyberium_neo » The link is helpful, though it did bring up another argument I had with Mystic Forge: Apparently you can play a morph creature from top of your library, regardless of its actual color or if it was a land like Zoetic Cavern. If there's a Lantern of Insight in play where everyone reveals the top card of their library, how would I justify playing a morph creature when it's clearly NOT a colorless card? Yet I could, so perhaps as long as the spell could be cast as a certain type (colorless, knight in grave, etc), it goes on the stack like a fired bullet, much like Eldrazi cast trigger that will happen even if you counter the Eldrazi itself.
Quote from cyberium_neo »Another interesting info I read about Sigarda's Aid: https://blogs.magicjudges.org/rulestips/2016/08/bestow-and-sigardas-aid/ "Rule 601.3b tells us that if an effect allows you to cast a spell with certain characteristics as though it had Flash (like Sigarda’s Aid for Auras), you’re allowed to factor in choices you make later on in the spellcasting process, such as choosing to use Bestow." So how does this interact with rules like Haakon/Kess and Adventure spells? I presume the process of casting a Bestow creature as aura is similar to Adventure, both are creature cards in their basic state, so if Sigarda's Aid allows you to cast bestow in instant speed, wouldn't Haakon allow you to cast the Adventure part of a knight?
Quote from Rakath »To further confuse this, as I had a question regarding Adventure answered: Cascade works off the CMC of the creature to determine if you cast either side, but Electrodominance works off of whichever half you're trying to cast. So it seems to be a matter of how selection is being done. If you're choosing a spell to match the conditions broadly (say: Haakon, Kess) you have to match exactly what they want (Knights, Instant/Sorcery). But if you're presented with a card and it checks for a detail (in Cascade's case: CMC) then once that check is done the entire card passes, either side works. Link
601.3E We had some contradictory rulings going on about split cards versus morph and when you look at what sets of characteristics. Adventures gave us the reason to shore up these rules. This isn't a change for morph, but it does change some answers for split cards: if you're allowed to cast a spell with a certain mana cost or color, look only at the half you're casting. Kari Zev's Expertise will allow you to cast Beck (but not Call). But stop right there before you get too excited—you can't cascade into Beck // Call with Shardless Agent, since cascade finds a card with a certain converted mana cost and then says that you can cast the card you found. Beck // Call's converted mana cost is 8, and 8 > 3, so you're still out of luck with cascade. 601.4 The old 601.3 rule started off by talking about whether it was legal to begin casting, and then all of its subrules went into details. But then the main rule continued on talking about what if it became illegal! I broke that out into its own rule and added clarity that becoming illegal after the proposal is done doesn't matter.
601.3e If a rule or effect states that only an alternative set of characteristics or a subset of characteristics are considered to determine if a card or copy of a card is legal to cast, those alternative characteristics replace the object’s characteristics prior to determining whether the player may begin to cast it. Example: Garruk’s Horde says, in part, “You may cast the top card of your library if it’s a creature card.” If you control Garruk’s Horde and the top card of your library is a noncreature card with morph, you may cast it using its morph ability. Example: Melek, Izzet Paragon says, in part, “You may cast the top card of your library if it’s an instant or sorcery card.” If you control Melek, Izzet Paragon and the top card of your library is Giant Killer, an adventurer creature card whose Adventure is an instant named Chop Down, you may cast Chop Down but not Giant Killer. If instead you control Garruk’s Horde and the top card of your library is Giant Killer, you may cast Giant Killer but not Chop Down.