AP does not use the key word target or each. Against Orbs of Warding, or any card that gives the player hexproof, is the player with hexproof still unable to lose?
Yeah, hexproof/shroud/protection doesn't stop that. First, it doesn't use the stack. Secondly, it hits all opponents.
Also, this would probably go to rules.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Card advantage is not the same thing as card draw. Something for 2B cannot be strictly worse than something for BBB or 3BB. If you're taking out Swords to Plowshares for Plummet, you're a fool. Stop doing these things!
The only abilities that can have targets are activated and triggered abilities (C.R. 114.1, especially C.R. 114.1c-d). Not only does Abyssal Persecutor lack the word "target" in its text, but it also has no activated or triggered abilities (review C.R. 602.1, 603.1). Also, neither "each [something]" nor "all [of something]" nor "your opponents" specify targets, even though they may describe things an ability may affect (C.R. 114.10a).