Hello everyone. My friend and I came across this the other night. He had goring ceratops a 5/5 with double strike and i wanted to kill his card. I used two 1/1 hired poisoners with deathtouch to try and kill it. How does the damage work with double strike assuming no other card is played?
Warning issued for failure to use card tags for the second time. Please check your private messages. -MadMage
Double strike on an attacking or blocking creature means, that there are two combat damage steps during combat instead of just one. A double striking creature can deal combat damage in both. However note, that the rules say, a blocked attacking creature that has no creature blocking it (anymore) cannot assign and deal combat damage, and double strike does not change this. In fact, it makes this more likely to happen. In the first combat damage step, the attacking Ceratops gets to assign 5 combat damage, at least 1 of which must be assigned to the first Hired Poisoner. The rest can be assigned to either Poisoner divided however the attacking player chooses. The Poisoners do not get to assign combat damage yet since they have neither first strike nor double strike. So the attacking player can kill one or both blockers, but it is his choice, not the defending player's. If the attacking player chooses to kill just one of the two blockers in the first combat damage step, then the second blocker will be alive during the second combat damage step, and both creatures will kill each other.