This thread was marked as Locked by MadMageQc.
Quote from Zombie Frogs »Thanks. I chose the desecration to make only constructs attack. The main debate is if he even gets the opportunity to let any others attack first
508.1. First, the active player declares attackers. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. To declare attackers, the active player follows the steps below, in order. If at any point during the declaration of attackers, the active player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the declaration is illegal; the game returns to the moment before the declaration (see rule 721, “Handling Illegal Actions”).
508.1a The active player chooses which creatures that they control, if any, will attack. The chosen creatures must be untapped, and each one must either have haste or have been controlled by the active player continuously since the turn began.
508.1b If the defending player controls any planeswalkers, or the game allows the active player to attack multiple other players, the active player announces which player or planeswalker each of the chosen creatures is attacking.
508.1c The active player checks each creature they control to see whether it’s affected by any restrictions (effects that say a creature can’t attack, or that it can’t attack unless some condition is met). If any restrictions are being disobeyed, the declaration of attackers is illegal.
Example: A player controls two creatures, each with a restriction that states “[This creature] can’t attack alone.” It’s legal to declare both as attackers.
508.1d The active player checks each creature they control to see whether it’s affected by any requirements (effects that say a creature attacks if able, or that it attacks if some condition is met). If the number of requirements that are being obeyed is fewer than the maximum possible number of requirements that could be obeyed without disobeying any restrictions, the declaration of attackers is illegal. If a creature can’t attack unless a player pays a cost, that player is not required to pay that cost, even if attacking with that creature would increase the number of requirements being obeyed. If a requirement that says a creature attacks if able during a certain turn refers to a turn with multiple combat phases, the creature attacks if able during each declare attackers step in that turn.
Example: A player controls two creatures: one that “attacks if able” and one with no abilities. An effect states “No more than one creature can attack each turn.” The only legal attack is for just the creature that “attacks if able” to attack. It’s illegal to attack with the other creature, attack with both, or attack with neither.
508.1e If any of the chosen creatures have banding or a “bands with other” ability, the active player announces which creatures, if any, are banded with which. (See rule 702.21, “Banding.”)
508.1f The active player taps the chosen creatures. Tapping a creature when it’s declared as an attacker isn’t a cost; attacking simply causes creatures to become tapped.
508.1g If there are any optional costs to attack with the chosen creatures (expressed as costs a player may pay “as” a creature attacks), the active player chooses which, if any, they will pay.
508.1h If any of the chosen creatures require paying costs to attack, or if any optional costs to attack were chosen, the active player determines the total cost to attack. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. Once the total cost is determined, it becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, ignore this change.
508.1i If any of the costs require mana, the active player then has a chance to activate mana abilities (see rule 605, “Mana Abilities”).
508.1j Once the player has enough mana in their mana pool, they pay all costs in any order. Partial payments are not allowed.
508.1k Each chosen creature still controlled by the active player becomes an attacking creature. It remains an attacking creature until it’s removed from combat or the combat phase ends, whichever comes first. See rule 506.4.
508.1m Any abilities that trigger on attackers being declared trigger.
Quote from Zombie Frogs »I chose the desecration to make only constructs attack.
Quote from Squirrel455 »Can I use walking desecration to have a creature with shroud attack?
Quote from Squirrel455 »Does this ability count as an area effect?
702.18a Shroud is a static ability. “Shroud” means “This permanent or player can’t be the target of
spells or abilities.”
702.18b Multiple instances of shroud on the same permanent or player are redundant.
115.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and
players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and
115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that
object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the
word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a
Quote from Squirrel455 »Can I use walking desecration to have a creature with shroud attack? Does this ability count as an area effect?