Yesterday i had a three person commander game and wanted to know the ruling on something.
I have on my field Aetherflux reservoir Alhammarret's archive
And exquisite blood and 119 life,
I use aetherflux reservoir to lose 50 life and make opponent 1 lose 50 life, no responses from other 2, so I gain 100 life from exquisite blood and alhammerret's archive combo, putting me at 169, then do the same to opponent 1, and in response opponent 2 uses whip of erebos to put duergar hedge-mage into play, his effect activates to desteoy both aetherflux reservoir and exquisite blood, in response I use aetherflux reservoir on opponent 2, opponent 2 has 75 life and at this point useing aetherflux twice i have 69 life left, can I use aetherflux reservoir again and add that to the stack even though im the last person that did something???
Yes. Not only can you respond to your own spells and abilities, but you get to do so first. Whenever a player uses priority to cast a spell or activate an ability, that player will gain priority afterwards and thus gets to respond first.
(And please, in the future, autocard. Especially with that many cards involved, you need to show them to us.)
Sorry about that, still fairly new to this how do I autocard i can change that now hopefully
So what makes it a sorcery speed effect is that its a tap effect correct??? Aetherflux reservoir would be an instant speed effect???
What makes this a sorcery timing is the text in the very ability at the very end: "Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery." Without that clause, the Whip's ability would have the same timing as the Reservoir's. All activated abilities, by default, can be used with instant timing. This clause makes the Whip's ability exempt from the default.
What ruling states i get to respond to my own spells and abilities first???
Technically, the player who had priority after casting a spell gets priority back (C.R. 602.1i). However, in a sanctioned tournament, a player that "adds an object to the stack [is] assumed" to pass "unless they explicitly announce that they intend to retain [priority]" (M.T.R. 4.2; see also C.R. 720.1c, 116.3d).