Hey all, I just came across a situation in a MTGO-game that surprised me a bit. It's possible that I've just missed something obvious, but currently I don't understand what happened, so hopefully someone can clarify the following:
What I could find here, was that with M14 the following change was put in effect:
Previously, if a permanent was made indestructible by a resolving spell or ability (such as Withstand Death), and then that permanent lost its abilities, it would still be indestructible. This was because indestructible wasn’t an ability; it was just something true about the permanent. Now, the permanent will gain the ability indestructible, and it will lose this ability along with its other abilities.
I've added a screenshot of the game that I made a few minutes after the incident, but in the log the interaction is still visible (although not very detailed).
Did Shalai still say she had Indestructible? In this situation, since you let the activated ability resolve before casting Merfolk Trickster, she should have lost indestructible and died. The only other thing I can think of is that she had toughness greater than 5 (since she is no longer on the battlefield in your screenshot, it is hard to determine).
If she had toughness less than 6 and did not die, this sounds like a bug with the way you have described it.
Thanks for your reply! Shalai was, other than by the Bodyguard's ability, unaltered (so, a 3/4). After the Bodyguard's and the Trickster's abilities had both resolved Shalai's textbox did still read 'indestructible', but was otherwise empty.
I'll look into reporting it. Thank you for your help!
Edit - I've just realized that you can replay games (sorry, I'm a bit new to MTGO), so I've been able to retrieve screenshots of the moment it happened. The first one shows that the Dauntless Bodyguard's ability has resolved before I cast the Merfolk Trickster. The second one shows the Shalai, Voice of Plenty after everything has resolved with 4 toughness, 5 damage and 'Indestructible'.
Could the indestructible have been linked to the dauntless bodyguard and that's what's causing it to stay indestructible? Not entirely sure but this seems most likely to me. Maybe a card that causes it to lose all text may do something different. Not sure myself, not a judge or anything but this seems possible.