My opponent has one of the gods from Hour of Devastation, such as The Scarab God, on the battlefield. I cast Clone and have it enter as a copy of Scarab God. Then I cast Stunt Double and target the same card, forcing me to sacrifice one due to the legendary rule. My question is this: When the cloned Scarab God’s ability triggers on death, would the Clone still return to my hand at the end step despite no longer being a Scarab God while in the graveyard?
My friend told me about a scenario where this happened and a judge said it does. He disagrees with the judge because “Clone don’t remember anything about what they were while they were on the battlefield”. I agree with the judge because you can treat “when The Scarab God dies” as “when this creature dies”, so it still affects Clone despite no longer being Scarab God.
You don't sacrifice to the Legend Rule. You just put all but one in your graveyard. And, neither Clone nor Stunt Double target.
Yes, this works fine. The Clone/God had a trigger that said "when ~this~ dies, return it to your hand at the beginning of the next end step". It doesn't matter that it no longer has the trigger in the graveyard. It had the trigger on the battlefield, and it triggered, so you will get the clone back to your hand.
603.6. Trigger events that involve objects changing zones are called “zone-change triggers.” Many abilities with zone-change triggers attempt to do something to that object after it changes zones...
603.6c Leaves-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent moves from the battlefield to another zone, or when a phased-in permanent leaves the game because its owner leaves the game. These are written as, but aren’t limited to, “When [this object] leaves the battlefield, . . .” or “Whenever [something] is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . .”...
603.6d Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions. Continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities must be treated specially. Leaves-the-battlefield abilities... [snip] will trigger based on their existence, and the appearance of objects, prior to the event rather than afterward. The game has to “look back in time” to determine if these abilities trigger.
603.7. An effect may create a delayed triggered ability that can do something at a later time. A delayed triggered ability will contain “when,” “whenever,” or “at,” although that word won’t usually begin the ability.
603.7c A delayed triggered ability that refers to a particular object still affects it even if the object changes characteristics...[Like your Clone no longer being The Scarab God]
603.7e If an activated or triggered ability creates a delayed triggered ability, the source of that delayed triggered ability is the same as the source of that other ability [The source of the ability is the Clone and so, even though it's no longer The Scarab God, it is still the source of that ability]. The controller of that delayed triggered ability is the player who controlled that other ability as it resolved.