Quote from Gerrard"s Mom »Challenge:
Create a spell with both flashback and one of the following mechanics introduced in the Commander series. Stay within the color identity of your Round 1 card.
join forcestempting offerlieutenantexperiencemyriadundaunted
Quote from Mr. Rithaniel »So, I believe the idea behind this is that Hakolp is an elemental which takes the form of an immense hydra?
The title "Woods Awakened" throws me off a little bit, however. Is Hakolp more of a giant wood elemental or a mixture of different elements?
(Also, the mental image of a head containing mountain ranges for teeth being supported by a tiny tree trunk made me laugh a little.)
I like the power to cost ratios you've establish. Four mana for a 2/2, five mana for a 4/4, six mana for a 6/6, etcetera. The only cost where you might argue that it's power and toughness are too low is when it would be a 2/2 for four mana. Aside from that, all potential cost-to-power-and-toughness ratios seem to be on-point.
...the cost of 1 in the activated ability...
"It gets" should be "Hakolp gains."
Why are we using that particular list of keywords?
Quote from bravelion83 »Thanks to Mr. Rithaniel for the very detailed MCC-style critique. I just wanted to answer a few points.
Quote from bravelion83 »Close. In my head I imagined it as a hydra but made of different natural elements instead of flesh.
Quote from bravelion83 »The latter, definitely. It's true that I've had troubles with its title. I've been thinking about a better one until the deadline, but it didn't come to my mind. As is, I imagined it as the whole forest awakening, with its trees but also the rivers, rocks and mount peaks, but I didn't want to use the word "Forest" because it has a different specific meaning in MTG. I don't know how strong this idea is, but this is what it is.
Quote from bravelion83 »It's kinda supposed to. It's meant to be a strange chimera made up of different elements instead of different animals. The image is kinda comical.
Quote from bravelion83 »Totally intentional. It probably shows that I've thought about rate a lot on this card.
Quote from bravelion83 »That's there as a safety valve against potential infinite loops and things like that. I don't know if it's really needed, but I decided to put it in just to be safe. As the saying goes, better safe than sorry.
Quote from bravelion83 »Not as of Dominaria. This is part of the wording changes introduced in that set. What's true is that the verb should be "gains" and not "gets", that's just an unfortunate leftover from an earlier version of the card, where that activated ability also granted a P/T bonus (that requires the verb "gets") which I later removed to both shorten the text and simplify the card, forgetting to change the verb to "gains" as I did. That's my real mistake, the "it" not only isn't wrong according to current editing rules, but it's actually the required wording now.
Quote from bravelion83 »Mechanics. It's just a list of three abilities found in each of the three colors. No flavor reason.