Quote from Subject16 »So for round 2 do we need to use one of the listed mechanics or can we design one of our own?
Quote from BlackWaltz3 »Dont feel bad flatline. I got an unearned DQ for the last month. The card may have problems as you have rules lawyered out for us but that has never equaled a dq so long as the main challenge was met in the history of the competition. I'm really glad this is shutting down.
Quote from bravelion83 »More questions for round 2.
Suppose I want to use emerge and I make a card with the exact same text as Abundant Maw but with no mana cost. Having no mana cost gives no other means to cast the card than emerge.
Quote from bravelion83 »
1. Does the cast ability count for subchallenge 1, as the only way you can cast the card and trigger that ability is via emerge? I think the answer is no, but I thought to ask just to be sure rather than making assumptions.
2. What if I substitute the cast ability with a different ability that cares about the sacrificed creature? For example if the Maw drained X life, where X is the sacrificed creature's cmc, power, or toughness.
3. Or would it just have to be literally "When CARDNAME's emerge cost is paid" or "if you paid CARDNAME's emerge cost"?
Quote from Mr. Rithaniel »This round is giving me a headache. Trying to make something both elegant and sensible is proving difficult. May I request that we be allowed to design our own alternate casting cost mechanics?
Quote from Eventide Sojourner »"Whenever you pay Lurking Darkness' cumulative upkeep, it deals..."[/spoiler]
Quote from void_nothing »Yes, Magic (i.e. Chicago manual of style) ALWAYS uses the apostrophe-s - what Leo always calls the Saxon genitive - to form a possessive, even after a double s. See Enchantress's Presence. This is an objective issue.
Quote from void_nothing »what Leo always calls the Saxon genitive
Quote from Flatline »Quote from Eventide Sojourner »"Whenever you pay Lurking Darkness' cumulative upkeep, it deals..."[/spoiler]That said, I just want to mention that the way I made darkness possessive is correct as far as I know. Of course, the way you have it also considered correct. The only time adding an s to the end of a word to make it possessive is incorrect is when it is a plural noun that ends in s...
Quote from void_nothing »My May final judgments will be done tomorrow... after I get some rest tonight.
Quote from The_Hittite »
(2.5/3) Quality: How long does flying and indestructible last? I know I already mentioned this, but it really needs some sort of marker to show if it lasts indefinitely.