Yawgmoth's Will

Oracle Text

Until end of turn, you may play cards from your graveyard.

If a card would be put into your graveyard from anywhere this turn, exile that card instead.

Card Rulings

10/4/2004 The second ability creates a replacement effect. It applies to both costs and effects.
10/4/2004 If you cast a Buyback spell, then there will be two effects trying to replace where the card goes. You get to choose if the Buyback returns the card to your hand or the card gets exiled.
10/4/2004 If an effect asks you to discard a card, you can’t “discard” something that is in your graveyard. Those cards are not in your hand. Thus, Cycling abilities of cards in the graveyard can’t be activated.
10/4/2004 It will exile itself since it goes to the graveyard after its effect starts.
10/4/2004 If you play a card using Yawgmoth’s Will and something triggers only when “cast from your hand”, that something will not trigger. Such things trigger based on where the card came from.
10/4/2004 To “play a card” is to either cast a spell or to put a land onto the battlefield using the main phase special action.
10/15/2006 You cannot Suspend a card from your graveyard, only your hand.
  • Rarity:Mythic Rare
  • Type:Sorcery
  • Set:Vintage Masters
  • Banned in, Legacy
  • Legal in UKN CLA
  • Artist:Ron Spencer