Prince of Thralls

Oracle Text

Whenever a permanent an opponent controls is put into a graveyard, put that card onto the battlefield under your control unless that opponent pays 3 life.

Card Rulings

10/1/2008 It doesn’t matter whose graveyard the permanent is put into as long as an opponent controlled it when it last existed on the battlefield.
10/1/2008 If the ability triggers and your opponent chooses not to pay 3 life, you must return the card to the battlefield, even if you don’t want to.
10/1/2008 If the permanent that caused the ability to trigger leaves the graveyard before the ability resolves (because it’s a token and it ceased to exist, or because a spell or ability removed it from the graveyard), the ability will still resolve. The opponent will have the option to pay 3 life. But whether or not that player pays the life, nothing will be returned to the battlefield.