Puca's Mischief

Oracle Text

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may exchange control of target nonland permanent you control and target nonland permanent an opponent controls with an equal or lesser converted mana cost.

Card Rulings

5/1/2008 You choose two targets such that as a set, all of the targeting conditions are met. That means, for example, that if you control a nonland permanent whose converted mana cost is lower than any of your opponents’ nonland permanents, you can’t choose it as a target. (If you did, you’d be unable to choose a second target.)
5/1/2008 Even if you don’t plan on exchanging control of any permanents, if you can choose two legal targets when the ability triggers, you must do so. If you can’t, then you don’t choose any targets.
5/1/2008 If either one of the targets becomes illegal (because it leaves the battlefield or for any other reason) by the time the ability resolves, the exchange won’t happen. If both targets become illegal, the ability doesn’t resolve.