Clone Shell

Oracle Text

Imprint — When Clone Shell enters the battlefield, look at the top four cards of your library, exile one face down, then put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order.

When Clone Shell dies, turn the exiled card face up. If it's a creature card, put it onto the battlefield under your control.

Card Rulings

1/1/2011 If you have fewer than four cards in your library as Clone Shell’s first ability resolves, you’ll look at all of them.
1/1/2011 As Clone Shell’s first ability resolves, you must exile one of the cards you look at, even if none of them is a creature card.
1/1/2011 As Clone Shell’s second ability resolves, if the exiled card is not a creature card, it simply remains in exile face up.
1/1/2011 If you gain control of another player’s Clone Shell, you won’t be able to look at the face-down exiled card. However, if Clone Shell is put into a graveyard, you will turn that card face up as the ability resolves and, if it’s a creature card, you will put it onto the battlefield under your control (even if you don’t want to).