Hunt the Weak

Oracle Text

Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature you control. Then that creature fights target creature you don't control. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.)

Card Rulings

1/19/2018 You can’t cast Hunt the Weak unless you choose both a creature you control and a creature you don’t control as targets.
1/19/2018 If either target is an illegal target as Hunt the Weak resolves, neither creature will deal or be dealt damage.
1/19/2018 If the creature you control is an illegal target as Hunt the Weak tries to resolve, you won’t put a +1/+1 counter on it. If that creature is a legal target but the other creature isn’t, you’ll still put the counter on the creature you control.