Essence Backlash

Oracle Text

Counter target creature spell. Essence Backlash deals damage equal to that spell's power to its controller.

Card Rulings

10/1/2012 Essence Backlash can target a creature spell that can’t be countered. If Essence Backlash resolves, it won’t counter the spell but it will still deal damage.
10/1/2012 If the creature’s power is * and it has an ability defining its power, use that ability to determine its power.
10/1/2012 Abilities that change the power of a creature (such as the one of Collective Blessing) affect only creatures on the battlefield. They won’t change a creature spell’s power on the stack.