Laccolith Grunt

Oracle Text

Whenever Laccolith Grunt becomes blocked, you may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature. If you do, Laccolith Grunt assigns no combat damage this turn.

Card Rulings

10/4/2004 The ability triggers even if a spell or ability makes it blocked, instead of being blocked by a creature.
10/4/2004 It can target any creature on the battlefield, not just one of the ones blocking it.
10/4/2004 The ability allows you to deal damage during the declare blockers step of combat, which is well before even first strike creatures deal damage.
10/4/2004 The ability is optional. You can decide to allow it to deal combat damage as normal.