Preeminent Captain

Oracle Text

First strike (This creature deals combat damage before creatures without first strike.)

Whenever Preeminent Captain attacks, you may put a Soldier creature card from your hand onto the battlefield tapped and attacking.

Card Rulings

7/18/2014 You choose what the Soldier you put onto the battlefield is attacking. It doesn’t have to attack the same player or planeswalker as Preeminent Captain.
7/18/2014 Any abilities of the Soldier creature card that trigger “Whenever [this creature] attacks” won’t trigger because the creature was never declared as an attacking creature.