Spellstutter Sprite

Oracle Text



When Spellstutter Sprite enters the battlefield, counter target spell with converted mana cost X or less, where X is the number of Faeries you control.

Card Rulings

10/1/2007 The value of X needs to be determined both when the ability triggers (so you can choose a target) and again when the ability resolves (to check if that target is still legal). If the number of Faeries you control has decreased enough in that time to make the target illegal, Spellstutter Sprite’s ability won’t resolve (and the targeted spell will resolve as normal).