Damping Matrix

Oracle Text

Activated abilities of artifacts and creatures can't be activated unless they're mana abilities.

Card Rulings

3/14/2017 Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities, such as equip, are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text.
3/14/2017 A mana ability is an ability that produces mana, not an ability that costs mana.
3/14/2017 Damping Matrix’s ability affects only artifacts and creatures on the battlefield. Activated abilities that work in other zones (such as bloodrush or unearth) can still be activated. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected.