Bonfire of the Damned

Oracle Text

Bonfire of the Damned deals X damage to target player and each creature he or she controls.

Miracle XR (You may cast this card for its miracle cost when you draw it if it's the first card you drew this turn.)

Card Rulings

3/14/2017 Bonfire of the Damned targets only the player. Creatures with shroud or hexproof that player controls will be dealt damage by Bonfire of the Damned if it resolves.
3/14/2017 A mana cost of means that you pay twice X. If you want X to be 3, you pay to cast Bonfire of the Damned.
3/14/2017 Bonfire of the Damned’s converted mana cost is based on its mana cost of , even if you’re casting it for its miracle cost. For example, if you cast Bonfire of the Damned for its miracle cost and choose 4 for X, its converted mana cost is 9.
3/14/2017 If the player is an illegal target when Bonfire of the Damned tries to resolve, the spell will be countered and none of its effects will happen. No damage will be dealt to any creature or player.
3/14/2017 Preventing some or all of the damage dealt to the player won’t affect the amount of damage dealt to each creature that player controls. The same is true for any effect that increases or decreases the amount of damage dealt to the player.