Veteran Bodyguard

Oracle Text

As long as Veteran Bodyguard is untapped, all damage that would be dealt to you by unblocked creatures is dealt to Veteran Bodyguard instead.

Card Rulings

10/4/2004 If a creature is blocked but Trample damage is still done to a player, this damage can’t be redirected to the Bodyguard because the Bodyguard only takes damage from unblocked creatures.
10/4/2004 Damage goes to the Bodyguard as long as he is untapped. This works even if he is blocking.
10/4/2004 If you have multiple Veteran Bodyguards, you can decide which one receives the redirected damage each time damage would be dealt to you.