Minion of Leshrac

Oracle Text

Protection from black

At the beginning of your upkeep, Minion of Leshrac deals 5 damage to you unless you sacrifice a creature other than Minion of Leshrac. If Minion of Leshrac deals damage to you this way, tap it.

T: Destroy target creature or land.

Card Rulings

10/1/2008 If you don’t sacrifice a creature at the beginning of your upkeep (either by choice or because you can’t), but you somehow prevent all the damage Minion of Leshrac would deal to you, then you don’t tap Minion of Leshrac.
10/1/2008 Minion of Leshrac can’t target itself with its activated ability because it has protection from black.