Broken Ambitions

Oracle Text

Counter target spell unless its controller pays X. Clash with an opponent. If you win, that spell's controller puts the top four cards of their library into their graveyard. (Each clashing player reveals the top card of their library, then puts that card on the top or bottom. A player wins if their card had a higher converted mana cost.)

Card Rulings

10/1/2007 The opponent you clash with doesn’t have to be the controller of the targeted spell.
10/1/2007 The clash (and the result of the clash if you win) happens regardless of whether the targeted spell was countered or was paid.